About the disallowed goal:
From the rules:
78.4 Scoring a Goal -
A goal shall be scored if the puck is put into the goal in any way by a player of the
defending side. The player of the attacking side who last touched the puck shall be credited
with the goal but no assist shall be awarded.
78.5 Disallowed Goals – Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee and the
appropriate announcement made by the Public Address Announcer for the following reasons:
(vi) When the puck has entered the net after making contact with an attacking player’s
stick that is above the height of the crossbar. Where the puck makes contact with the stick
is the determining factor. See 38.4(vi).
38.4 Situations Subject to Video Review - The following situations are subject to review by
the Video Goal Judge:
(vi) Puck struck with a high-stick, above the height of the crossbar, by an attacking
player prior to entering the goal. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact
with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and
enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed.
80.1 High-sticking the Puck – Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with
a stick is prohibited. When a puck is struck with a high stick and subsequently comes into
the possession and control of a player from the offending team (including the player who
made contact with the puck), either directly or deflected off any player or official,there
shall be a whistle.
When a puck has been contacted by a high stick, the play shall be permitted to continue,
(i) the puck has been batted to an opponent (when a player bats the puck to an opponent,
the Referee shall give the “washout” signal immediately. Otherwise, he will stop the play).
(ii) a player of the defending side shall bat the puck into his own goal in which case the
goal shall be allowed.
Cooke hit the puck above the crossbar. The puck was hit into Henrik who didn't have possession or control of it, bounced it to a Ranger who also didn't have possession or control and pushed the puck into his own net. The puck was never hit into the net by Cooke rather it was a Ranger who put it in his own net.
Therefore: It looks as though the goal should have counted by the rule book. What could Toronto have decided to disallow it at least judging by their rules?
Does the NHL apologize to teams (like the NFL does) when a ref or Toronto makes a mistake whether it costs a game or not?
Maybe there is some other interpretation or rule?
The content expressed in fanposts does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff here at Pensburgh.com. FanPosts are opinions expressed by fans of various teams throughout the league but may be more Pittsburgh-centric for obvious reasons.