clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards Ceremony 2008

None of the Penguins walked away with hardware this year, but the list is still - how do I say, interesting?

Take a look at this list and tell me what you think.

Hart Trophy - Best in the league

Alex Ovechkin - Washington Capitals

Vezina Trophy - Best goaltender

Martin Brodeur - New Jersey Devils

Norris - Best defenseman

Niklas Lidstrom - Detroit Red Wings

Calder - Rookie of the year

Patrick Kane - Chicago Blackhawks

Lady Byng - Most gentlemanly player

Pavel Datsyuk - Detroit Red Wings

Frank Selke - Best defensive forward

Pavel Datsyuk - Detroit Red Wings

Jack Adams - Best coach

Bruce Boudreau - Washington Capitals

Masterton Trophy - Perseverance in hockey

Jason Blake - Toronto Maple Leafs

Lester B. Pearson - voted by the NHLPA

Alex Ovechkin - Washington Capitals


Now I won't deny Ovechkin his dues, and Jason Blake is definitely deserving of that award, but why must three Red Wings make the list?  Not to mention, out of the nine awards a combined six are going to two teams.  I wouldn't doubt Detroit fans are crying about Babcock not winning the Jack Adams...

Is the awards ceremony generous towards Cup winners?