clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins Roster Coming Into Focus

The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins announced their Training Camp cuts this afternoon.

Justin K. Aller

The Pittsburgh Penguins still have until 5:00pm to announce their final 23-man rosters and get under the Cap for the 2013-14 NHL season, but their AHL affiliate the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins trimmed their Training Camp roster down to the initial regular season roster by reassigning 2 players to the ECHL Wheeling Nailers and releasing 12 more players from Pro Tryout contracts. The cut players were:

Goaltender (1)

Andy Chiodo - PTO

Defensemen (4)

Barry Goers - ECHL Wheeling Nailers

Mike Ratchuk - ECHL Wheeling Nailers

Clark Seymour - PTO but Penguins property via 2012 NHL Draft

Alex Velischek - ECHL Wheeling Nailers and formerly Penguins property via 2009 NHL Draft

Forwards (9)

Denver Manderson - AHL WBS Baby Pens

Christiaan Minella - AHL WBS Baby Pens

Kyle Fletcher - ECHL Wheeling Nailers

Chaz Johnson - ECHL Wheeling Nailers

Patrick McGrath - PTO locally born and trained in WBS

Carter Rowney - PTO attended Prospect Development Camp and Rookie Tournament with Pittsburgh

C.J. Severyn - ECHL Orlando Solar Bears

Cody Sylvester - PTO attended Prospect Development Camp and Rookie Tournament with Pittsburgh

Scott Zurevinski - ECHL Wheeling Nailers

WBS Baby Pens

The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins roster still contains a number of players battling for roster positions.

There are currently 3 Goaltenders: Peter Mannino, Jeff Deslauriers, and Eric Hartzell, while the presumed starter Jeff Zatkoff remains in Pittsburgh.

There are currently 9 Defensemen: Brian Dumoulin, Philip Samuelsson, Scott Harrington, Brendan Mikkelson, Peter Merth, Reid McNeill, Nick D`Agostino, Harrison Ruopp, and Dustin Stevenson.

There are currently 17 Forwards: Andrew Ebbett, Chris Conner, Nick Drazenovic, Brian Gibbons, Paul Thompson, Tom Kostopoulos, Tom Kuhnhackl, Adam Payerl, Dominik Uher, Anton Zlobin, Zach Sill, Jayson Megna, Harry Zolnierczyk, Bobby Farnham, Pierre-Luc Letourneau-Leblond, Mike Carman, and Jack Maclellan.