clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Rookie Tournament

Finally, hockey is just around the corner as the Pens announce the schedule and roster for the 2014 Rookie Tournament in London, Ontario from September 13-16.

Bruce Bennett

The Pittsburgh Penguins released the schedule and roster for the 2014 Rookie Tournament in London, Ontario this morning. The tournament will run from Saturday September 13th through Tuesday September 16th. If you happen to be in the area, or are keen on travel, you can purchase tickets through the Budweiser Gardens website, home of the OHL London Knights.

The Penguins will face the Ottawa Senators at 2pm on Saturday September 13th, then the Chicago Blackhawks at 2pm on Sunday September 14th, and finally the Toronto Maple Leafs at 2pm on Tuesday September 16th. And of course once the Rookie Tournament is over, they will be headed back to Pittsburgh and the NHL Training Camp will be gearing up.

Most of the players invited are guys that will be in WBS this year, although some have a chance to fight for a spot in Camp or could be mid-season call-ups, but there are far fewer invites this year than we have had in the recent past, thanks to the developmental pool finally turning pro. And as usual, the WBS coaches John Hynes and Alain Nasreddine will be in charge.

This may be a good time for you to check out some of the excellent work from the hockey community. Ian Altenbaugh of Hockey's Future recently released his rundown of the Top 20 Penguins Prospects, many of whom will be attending the Rookie Tournament. Also, Tony Androckitis of Highland Park Hockey has an excellent rundown of the Penguins organizational depth for the upcoming season, and as his focus is on the AHL WBS Baby Pens he has a lot of insight into the players we will see at the Rookie Tournament.


There are 15 forwards invited to the Rookie Tournament, most of whom are currently under contract with the Penguins.

2010 3rd Round pick Bryan Rust

2010 4th Round pick Tom Kuhnhackl

2011 5th Round pick Dominik Uher

2011 6th Round pick Josh Archibald

2011 7th Round pick Scott Wilson

2012 3rd Round pick Oskar Sundqvist

2012 4th Round pick Matia Marcantuoni

2012 6th Round pick Anton Zlobin

2012 Undrafted Free Agent Adam Payerl

2013 Undrafted Free Agent Jean-Sebastien Dea

2014 1st Round pick Kasperi Kapanen

2014 6th Round pick Jaden Lindo

AHL Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins invite Conor Sheary

ECHL Wheeling Nailers invite Patrick McGrath

ATO invite Christophe Lalancette


There are 7 D invited to the rookie tournament, all of which are signed with a team in the organization.

2008 7th Round pick Nick D`Agostino

2010 6th Round pick Reid McNeill

2011 2nd Round pick Scott Harrington

2012 Trade Acquisition Brian Dumoulin

2012 Trade Acquisition Harrison Ruopp

AHL Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins Clark Seymour

AHL Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins Alex Boak


They invited the two goaltenders that qualify.

2012 3rd Round pick Matthew Murray

2013 2nd Round pick Tristan Jarry