clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Order of the Cup

The Penguins won the Cup. Everyone always looks to see who it gets handed to first. Here's the whole breakdown.

Pool/Getty Images

Here's the order of the Stanley Cup celebration

Sidney Crosby
Trevor Daley
Pascal Dupuis
Marc-Andre Fleury
Chris Kunitz
Evgeni Malkin
Matt Cullen
Kris Letang
Phil Kessel
Ben Lovejoy
Eric Fehr
Patric Hornqvist
Carl Hagelin
Nick Bonino
Ian Cole
Justin Schultz
Olli Maatta
Brian Dumoulin
Matt Murray
Bryan Rust
Conor Sheary
Tom Kuhnhackl

Trevor Daley seems like an odd choice since he was injured for the SCF and only joined the team in December, but of course there's a heartwarming backstory for that. From Yahoo:

After the Penguins beat the San Jose Sharks 3-1 in Game 6 to win the Cup, Pittsburgh's captain handed it to Daley, who missed the final nine games of the playoffs because of a broken left ankle. Crosby said he gave it to Daley not because of the injury but because the 32-year-old's mother is battling cancer.

Daley told Crosby after a visit home that his mother, Trudy, wasn't doing well.

''I think that kind of stuck with me after he told me that,'' Crosby said.

When it was time to celebrate Sunday night, Crosby told Daley he'd be getting it first.

''It was pretty special,'' Daley said. ''He's a great player, but he's an even better person. There's not much more you can say about that guy. He's a special guy.''

All of the feels.