clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sidney Crosby wins 2017 Conn Smythe Trophy, joins elite company

The Pittsburgh Penguins captain wins his second straight Conn Smythe trophy after another successful run

Frederick Breedon/Getty Images

Sidney Crosby is the 2017 Conn Smythe winner as playoff MVP for the Pittsburgh Penguins. It's the second year in a row and Crosby joins elite company.

Only Bobby Orr, Wayne Gretzky and Mario Lemieux have won 2 Conn Smythe's as skaters. Goalie Patrick Roy has the most overall awards with 3 since the trophy was first given out in 1965.

Crosby scored 8 goals and 19 assists in 23 games to win the award, overcoming a concussion in Round 2 as well. He took over 200 more faceoffs than anyone else on the team as well and proved his worth all over the ice every single game, facing the toughest defensive pairs and checkers game in and game out.

Not a bad year for Sid

What a year indeed and what company to be in. Orr. Gretzky. Lemieux. Crosby.